Gov. Maggie Hassan today will nominate four new">

Hi 27° | Lo 4°

Hassan to nominate four new N.H. judges and a Public Utilities Commission member

Gov. Maggie Hassan today will nominate four new circuit court judges and name a new member to the state’s powerful Public Utilities Commission.

All five nominations must be confirmed by the Executive Council.

Martin Honigberg, a Concord resident and former senior assistant attorney general who runs the Sulloway & Hollis law firm’s government relations group, would join the PUC for a six-year term, replacing Michael Harrington. The three-person commission oversees public utilities such as electricity, natural gas and telecommunications companies.

The four new judges would, if confirmed, serve in the New Hampshire Circuit Court system – which includes family, district and probate courts across the state – until the mandatory retirement age of 70.

“Ensuring a fair, transparent and effective judicial system requires highly capable judges with the utmost experience, character and integrity,” Hassan said yesterday in a statement. “All four circuit court nominees have decades of experience with New Hampshire’s judicial system and have demonstrated the good character and temperament that the people of our state require of their judges.”

Those four nominees are:

∎ Susan Carbon of Chichester, a part-time circuit court judge in Manchester who was the director of the U.S. Department of Justice’s Office on Violence Against Women from 2010 to 2012.

∎ Robert James Foley, a Dover resident and marital master since 2006.

∎ Margaret-Ann Moran, a Manchester resident and partner at the Upton & Hatfield law firm.

∎ Patricia Quigley of Concord, a staff attorney for the circuit court.

Hassan said all four were identified by the Judicial Selection Commission, an 11-member advisory panel she reconstituted in April to recommend candidates for judgeships.

Twelve of the circuit court system’s 25 full-time judgeships are vacant, and two more judges plan to leave office by the end of the year, said courts spokeswoman Carole Alfano.

Hassan, a Democrat, will formally nominate Honigberg, Carbon, Foley, Moran and Quigley at today’s Executive Council meeting.

(Ben Leubsdorf can be reached at 369-3307 or or on Twitter @BenLeubsdorf.)

Legacy Comments0
There are no comments yet. Be the first!
Post a Comment

You must be registered to comment on stories. Click here to register.