Hi 8° | Lo -6°

How N.H. senators and Merrimack County representatives voted on Medicaid expansion

The Democratic-controlled House yesterday voted, 198-146, to pass a bill expanding New Hampshire’s Medicaid program. It was then killed by the Republican-controlled Senate, 13-11 along party lines.

Here’s how Merrimack County’s state representatives voted on Special Session House Bill 1, listed alphabetically by last name:


∎ Rep. Christy Bartlett, Concord Democrat

∎ Rep. Scott Burns, Franklin Democrat

∎ Rep. Lorrie Carey, Boscawen Democrat

∎ Rep. Clyde Carson, Warner Democrat

∎ Rep. Frank Davis, Pembroke Democrat

∎ Rep. Karen Ebel, New London Democrat

∎ Rep. June Frazer, Concord Democrat

∎ Rep. Barbara French, Henniker Democrat

∎ Rep. Mary Stuart Gile, Concord Democrat

∎ Rep. Paul Henle, Concord Democrat

∎ Rep. Geoffrey Hirsch, Bradford Democrat

∎ Rep. Jane Hunt, Concord Democrat

∎ Rep. David Karrick, Warner Democrat

∎ Rep. Sally Kelly, Chichester Democrat

∎ Rep. Priscilla Lockwood, Canterbury Republican

∎ Rep. Jim MacKay, Concord Democrat

∎ Rep. Howard Moffett, Canterbury Democrat

∎ Rep. Mel Myler, Hopkinton Democrat

∎ Rep. Dick Patten, Concord Democrat

∎ Rep. Mario Ratzki, Andover Democrat

∎ Rep. Chip Rice, Concord Democrat

∎ Rep. Gary Richardson, Hopkinton Democrat

∎ Rep. Katherine Rogers, Concord Democrat

∎ Rep. Thomas Schamberg, Wilmot Democrat

∎ Rep. Dianne Schuett, Pembroke Democrat

∎ Rep. Steve Shurtleff, Penacook Democrat

∎ Rep. Joy Tilton, Northfield Democrat

∎ Rep. Mary Jane Wallner, Concord Democrat

∎ Rep. Rick Watrous, Concord Democrat

∎ Rep. Leigh Webb, Franklin Democrat


∎ Rep. David Hess, Hooksett Republican

∎ Rep. JR Hoell, Dunbarton Republican

∎ Rep. Frank Kotowski, Hooksett Republican

∎ Rep. Carol McGuire, Epsom Republican

∎ Rep. Dan McGuire, Epsom Republican

∎ Rep. Tom Walsh, Hooksett Republican

Not voting

∎ Rep. Caroletta Alicea, Boscawen Democrat

∎ Rep. Chris Andrews, Bow Democrat

∎ Rep. Candace Bouchard, Concord Democrat

∎ Rep. Mary Frambach, Epsom Democrat

∎ Rep. David Kidder, New London Republican

∎ Rep. Dennis Reed, Franklin Republican

∎ Rep. Todd Smith, Hooksett Republican

∎ Rep. Alan Turcotte, Allenstown Democrat

∎ Rep. Mary Beth Walz, Bow Democrat

The 13 Republican senators who voted to kill the bill were: Majority Leader Jeb Bradley of Wolfeboro, Sen. Peter Bragdon of Milford, Sen. David Boutin of Hooksett, Sen. Sharon Carson of Londonderry, Sen. Sam Cataldo of Farmington, Sen. Jeanie Forrester of Meredith, President Chuck Morse of Salem, Sen. Bob Odell of Lempster, Sen. Russell Prescott of Kingston, Sen. Jim Rausch of Derry, Sen. John Reagan of Deerfield, Sen. Andy Sanborn of Bedford and Sen. Nancy Stiles of Hampton.

The 11 Democratic senators who supported the bill were: Sen. Lou D’Allesandro of Manchester, Sen. Martha Fuller Clark of Portsmouth, Sen. Peggy Gilmour of Hollis, Sen. Andrew Hosmer of Laconia, Sen. Molly Kelly of Keene, Minority Leader Sylvia Larsen of Concord, Sen. Bette Lasky of Nashua, Sen. David Pierce of Etna, Sen. Donna Soucy of Manchester, Sen. David Watters of Dover and Sen. Jeff Woodburn of Dalton.


No deal on Medicaid expansion

Thursday, November 21, 2013

A special session of the Legislature closed yesterday with no deal for expanding Medicaid to an additional 50,000 low-income adults, despite leaders on both sides of the political aisle saying they remain willing and eager to reach a compromise. The Republican-controlled Senate voted on three amendments to its original bill, ultimately approving one, 13-11 along party lines, before tabling the …

Legacy Comments0
There are no comments yet. Be the first!
Post a Comment

You must be registered to comment on stories. Click here to register.