Hi 27° | Lo 4°

Executive Council confirms 3 Hassan nominees to run N.H. state agencies

The Executive Council yesterday confirmed three of Gov. Maggie Hassan’s nominees to run state agencies: John Beardmore to take over the Department of Revenue Administration and new terms for the commissioners of insurance and information technology.

The unanimous votes confirmed Beardmore for a four-year term as DRA commissioner, Roger Sevigny for another five-year term as commissioner of the New Hampshire Insurance Department and Peter Hastings for a four-year term as commissioner of the Department of Information Technology.

“The confirmations of these three dedicated public servants are critical steps forward in our efforts to protect consumers and businesses, to ensure all taxpayers are being treated fairly, and to innovate and improve efficiency in state government,” Hassan said in a statement.

Beardmore, a Hopkinton resident, is the current director of administration at the Department of Safety, and was former governor John Lynch’s budget director. He was confirmed, 5-0, and will succeed Kevin Clougherty, whose term as DRA commissioner ended last fall.

Sevigny, a Manchester resident, has run the Insurance Department since 2003, and his current term ends
Sunday. The vote yesterday to confirm him was 4-0; Councilor Colin Van Ostern, a Concord Democrat, recused himself and said a relative has business pending with the department.

Hastings, a Derry resident, was confirmed, 5-0. He’s
been the acting IT commissioner since October, when Commissioner Bill Rogers left the job.

Hassan yesterday also formally nominated Jim Craig of Manchester, a former Democratic congressional candidate and state House minority leader, as the next commissioner of labor.

(Ben Leubsdorf can be reached at 369-3307 or or on Twitter @BenLeubsdorf.)

Legacy Comments0
There are no comments yet. Be the first!
Post a Comment

You must be registered to comment on stories. Click here to register.