Hi 44° | Lo 23°

Business people: Nov. 5

ASHLEY MILLER of Concord was awarded certification to practice public accounting in the state of New Hampshire by the New Hampshire Society of Certified Public Accountants at a ceremony Sept. 25 at the Grappone Conference Center in Concord.

RYAN LINEHAN and SUZANNE CANALI earned the Outstanding Service Inside and Outside of the Profession Award by the New Hampshire Art Educators’ Association. Linehan is a curator of art and director of the School of Art at Kimball-Jenkins Estates. He became director of education and operations at Kimball-Jenkins in 2006 and has helped make the school what it is today. Canali, chairperson of the Art Education Department at the New Hampshire Institute of Art, has been responsible for the institute’s art education program’s creation, facilitation and growth.

DR. JOSE MONTERO was elected president of the Association of State and Territorial Health Officials. Dr. Montero has been with the New Hampshire Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Public Health Services since 1999.

The New Hampshire Association of Insurance Agents announced its board of directors for 2013: CHARLES HAMLIN of Infanite/Cross Insurance Agency, chairman; BRYAN BERNIER of Aspen Insurance Agency, chairman of the board-elect; and CHRISTOPHER WORCESTER of Hometown Insurance Agency, vice chairman. RYAN TOWLE of Davis and Towel Group serves as immediate past chairman and DEAN MERRILL of Tobey & Merrill of Hampton will continue to serve as New Hampshire’s national director to the Independent Insurance Agents and Brokers of America.

ADRIA BAGSHAW, vice president of W.H. Bagshaw Co., was appointed chairwoman of the New Hampshire Small Business Development Center Advisory Board. Bagshaw has served on the advisory board for four years.

CATHY HARRINGTON, vice president of human resources at Upper Valley Press, and MICHAEL BARR, safety coordinator for the Donovan Equipment Co., were elected to the Granite State Workers’ Compensation Manufacturer’s Trust, d/b/a Sigma-One Board of Trustees. Harrington and Barr will serve on the board as general members until otherwise assigned.

BISHOP GENE ROBINSON will be awarded the 2012 Patrick Jackson Award on Nov. 15 by the Yankee Chapter of the Public Relations Society of America. The award recognizes a professional who is not in the public relations field, but nonetheless successfully uses public relations principles to benefit his or her organization and society. Gene Robinson is recognized for his work on civil rights for gay, lesbian and transgender people and is also a known advocate for debt relief, socially responsible investment, and access to health care.

DEBORAH NITZSCHKE has become an Ameriprise Platinum Financial Services adviser based on the success of her financial services practice in 2011. Nitzschke, with an office in Henniker, is one of approximately 20 percent of the nearly 10,000 Ameriprise financial advisers to achieve this status.

JEFFREY MEYERS was named director of government affairs and communications at Grate Healthcare Network, a joint venture organization between five New Hampshire hospitals. In this role, Meyers will develop an advocacy and outreach program to support the implementation of the network’s initiatives.

SEN. JEANIE FORRESTER of Meredith was awarded the New Hampshire Health Care Association Legislative Service award for 2012. The award is given annually to a legislator whose work on behalf of nursing homes and assisted living facilities and their residents and employees has been especially outstanding.

WALT FREESE, chief executive officer of Stonyfield, will be an instructor in the Certificate in Corporate Sustainability program at the University of New Hampshire Wednesday-Friday. Freese took the helm of Stonyfield from founder Gary Hirschberg in January and is the former CEO of Ben & Jerry’s Homemade.

EMILY GRAY RICE joined Bernstein Shur’s Labor and Employment Practice Group and Business Law Practice Group. Rice has more than 25 years of experience in employment and business law. Prior to joining the firm, she was a shareholder with Orr & Reno of Concord.

GARY HIRSHBERG of Concord, founder and chairman of Stonyfield Farm, earned an award for his outstanding leadership to improve and protect the health and wellbeing of residents of Massachusetts at the Massachusetts Health Council annual awards gala on Oct. 17.

SARAH KELLEY FORD of Wolfeboro Falls was appointed sales manager of Coldwell Banker Residential Brokerage at the company’s Wolfeboro office. Ford will be responsible for the day-to-day sales and operations of nine sales associates serving Wolfeboro and the surrounding communities within the Lakes Region.

ROBIN HEFELE of Dunbarton, government loan underwriter at Merrimack County Savings Bank in Bow, earned the Employee STAR of the Month award for August. The award was presented to her for her excellent interpersonal skills, attention to detail and tireless dedication.

JOHN TEAGUE, partner with Upton & Hatfield in Concord, earned the Bradley F. Kidder award for Outstanding Contributions in the Field of Education Law at the Bradley F. Kidder Educational Law Conference on Oct. 10. The award recognizes the New Hampshire school attorney who has played a significant role in advancing the position of school law in the state of New Hampshire.

Legacy Comments0
There are no comments yet. Be the first!
Post a Comment

You must be registered to comment on stories. Click here to register.