Hi 26° | Lo 19°

British Open at a glance

HOYLAKE, England – Facts and figures for the British Open golf championship, which starts today:

Event: 143rd British Open

Site: Royal Liverpool Golf Club

Length: 7,312 yards

Par: 35-37–72

Field: 156 (152 professionals, 4 amateurs)

Prize money: $9.24 million

Winner’s share: $1.67 million)

Defending champion: Phil Mickelson

Open champions at Royal Liverpool: Tiger Woods (2006), Roberto De Vicenzo (1967), Peter Thomson (1956), Fred Daly (1947), Alfred Padgham (1936), Bobby Jones (1930), Walter Hagen (1924), John H. Taylor (1913), Arnaud Massy (1907), Sandy Herd (1902), Harold Hilton (1897).

The course: Royal Liverpool was brown, fast and fiery in 2006 when Tiger Woods won by two shots. With a wet spring and occasional rain in recent weeks, it is green, not as fast and has thicker rough.

Tiger Tales: Tiger Woods is playing his first major of the season after having back surgery on March 31.

Tee times (EDT): 4:04 a.m. – Tiger Woods, Angel Cabrera, Henrik Stenson. 9:05 a.m. – Phil Mickelson, Ernie Els, Bubba Watson.

Television (EDT): Today, 4 a.m. to 3 p.m., ESPN.


Factory worker makes it a blue-collar British Open

Wednesday, July 16, 2014

HOYLAKE, England – John Singleton had just finished up a practice round along the Irish Sea when four young girls approached him from the other side of the fence. “Are you famous?” one of them asked. “I’m playing in the Open,” Singleton replied, trying to keep a straight face. “That’s pretty famous, ain’t it?” Actually, there’s no more improbable player …

Legacy Comments0
There are no comments yet. Be the first!
Post a Comment

You must be registered to comment on stories. Click here to register.