Hi 38° | Lo 24°

Babe Ruth softball District II champs

Babe Ruth U12 softball champs

In the U12 District II Babe Ruth All-Star Championship, Capital Area North beat Capital Area South at Dillon Field. Abby Rochette threw a one-hit shutout to lead North in the final, while Grace Feigl and Jillian Dusseault both scored a pair of runs in the win. Caitlyn Kelley earned the win against Central NH, 2-1, with Jada Duvert scoring the winning walk-off run in the bottom of the sixth.

Capital Area South was led by the pitching of Izzy Dunn and Nicole Lebrun, the defense of Haley Rand and the hitting of Aniecia Vargas and Brett Stoddard. Capital Area South beat Central NH, Merrimack Valley and Capital Area North in pool play and then beat Merrimack Valley in the semifinals.

Members of the Capital Area North championship team are: Abby Rochette, Nicole Cacciola, Jada Duvert, Sarah Morin, Jaden Morin, Abby Santis, Jess Doward, Lauryn Colby, Brighid Weeden, Elise Oneil, Grace Feigl, Jillian Dusseault, Caitlyn Kelley and Ashley Kelley.

Babe Ruth U10 softball champs

The Hopkinton U-10 Morgan Signs/Colonial Hawk softball team won the Capital Area District II softball tournament over the weekend. After moving on with a 2-1 record in pool play, the Hawks rode the powerful pitching of Megan Kimball-Rhines and Megan Blanchette to win back-to-back games against two undefeated Concord teams, beating Capital Area South, 20-9, and then immediately playing again to defeat Capital Area North, 8-6, in the championship to avenge their only pool play loss. Katelyn Meserve caught all 12 innings in the heat, Maurgan McGrath made several beautiful defensive plays, and Brooke Carlson had some key hits for the Hawks, who now move on to the State U-10 tournament next weekend. Members of the Hawks championship team are: Sophie Potter, Katelyn Meserve, Megan Kimball-Rhines, Megan Blanchette, Brooke Carlson, Maddy Follansbee, Kally Murdough, Julia Baer, Maurgan McGrath, Jordyn Barrett, Bea Burack, Emma Crawford, Blake Licata, and alternates Abby Simpson and Ellie Sintros. Coaches are Dan Meserve, Mike Baer and Arlene McGrath.

Legacy Comments0
There are no comments yet. Be the first!
Post a Comment

You must be registered to comment on stories. Click here to register.