Hi 24° | Lo 17°

Big day for Coe-Brown on the x-c trails

Last year, when Coe-Brown’s Jeremy Brassard won the Meet of Champions, he did so with a three-second cushion over the runner-up finisher.

Yesterday, in his attempt to repeat as the state’s fastest cross country runner, Brassard covered Nashua South’s Mines Falls course almost four seconds slower than he did a year ago, and the competition crept up. In a furious kick to the line, Brassard nipped Mascenic’s Tim Fafard by 0.4 seconds to retain his crown and also lead the Bears to third place and a berth in Saturday’s New England Championships at Derryfield Park in Manchester.

It was a splendid day all around for Coe-Brown, whose girls’ team once again dominated the state, placing all five scoring runners in the top 11 to win the team title for a third straight year. The Bears’ score of 33 points easily beat runner-up Pinkerton (112), with Bishop Guertin (132), Winnacunnet (168), Concord (195) and Nashua North (202) rounding out the top six who will qualify for New Englands. Of those six, Coe-Brown is the only non-Division I school.

Elisabeth Danis led the way for the Bears, moving up a spot from last year to finish third in 18:20.3. Oyster River’s Maegan Doody took the individual title in 18:12.

Hannah Parker (seventh, 18:52.7), Jessie Carney (eighth, 18:56.7), Brooke Laskowsky (ninth, 19:09.5) and Meg Scannell (11th, 19:11.6) also scored for Coe-Brown, with Katie Scannell (37th, 20:08.8) and Mary Fowler (50th, 20:25.4) joining in on the trip to New Englands.

Concord, which finished fourth in Division I last week, retained its order among the larger schools, finishing fifth overall and earning a trip to New Englands. Smita Boesch-Dining led the way for the Tide, finishing 13th in 19:13.1. Erin Waters (27th, 19:44.9), Samantha Pearl (51st, 20:26.0), Michaella Conery (59th, 20:33.5), Cassie Shea (65th, 20:39.7), Kate Andy (97th, 21:35.6) and Kaelin Willette (106th, 21:54.5) helped the Tide return to New Englands after several years away.

Hopkinton (ninth, 243) and Bow (13th, 329) were the only other area teams to compete, and while their teams won’t be moving on, Hopkinton will send two individuals to New Englands. Sarah Nadeau (12th, 19:12.4) and Maddie Clark (18th, 19:27) both qualified for the Hawks, who also had Katie Irwin (42nd, 20:13.5), Emily Calder (76th, 20:52.6), Melissa Irwin (128th, 23:08.7), Mary McCaulliffe (142nd, 26:50.6) and Emily Jones (143rd, 27:00.2) compete.

For Bow, Olivia Krause (28th, 19:45.4) just missed moving on, while Sohani Demian (72nd, 20:48.5), Allie Krause (80th, 21:00), Hannah Weckstein (91st, 21:21.1), Ashlie Tucker (102nd, 21:44.7), Haleigh Garrett (116th, 22:14.7) and Kaitlynn Leary (134th, 23:45.4) also ran.

Other area competitors in the girls’ race were Sant Bani’s Sarah Steenbergen (112th, 22:00.7) and Joyce Hamel (127th, 23:07).

For the boys, Brassard’s time of 15:50 paced the Bears to third place with 155 points, finishing behind Oyster River (104) and Pinkerton (110). Souhegan (155), Portsmouth (209) and Nashua South (211) also qualified for New Englands.

Also helping Coe-Brown move on to next week were Chris Pratt (43rd, 17:01.2), Lucas Fisher (44th, 17:01.3), Davio Deluca (61st, 17:14.3), Jared Nelson (64th, 17:15.2), Alex Prevatt (92nd, 17:47.2) and Zach Flanagan (103rd, 17:53.1).

Hopkinton’s Dom Repucci is the only other area runner moving on to New Englands. The sophomore finished 11th in 16:23.7. Also running for the Hawks (17th, 431) were Cody Roberge (109th, 18:01.8), Chris Barnard (139th, 18:44.4), Peter Sawitsky (143rd, 18:55), Declan Campbell (145th, 19:02.4), Duncan Calder (149th, 19:08.7) and Bowman Ridinger (160th, 20:36.4).

Bow finished 19th (478) behind Peter LaRiviere (84th, 17:35.3), Zachary Zbehlik (122nd, 18:16.9), Andrew Attorri (129th, 18:22.5), Dylan Wheeler (134th, 18:32.4), Hayden Udelson (135th, 18:34.6), David Udelson (148th, 19:07.7) and Jacob Proulx (159th, 20:27.4).

Concord’s Pepper Smith just missed out on New Englands, finishing 29th in 16:48.2. Other area competitors were Bishop Brady’s Warren Bartlett (88th, 17:41.8), MV’s Keegan Hanks (99th, 17:51) and Kearsarge’s Shane Corley (101st, 17:51.4).

Legacy Comments0
There are no comments yet. Be the first!
Post a Comment

You must be registered to comment on stories. Click here to register.