Hi 40° | Lo 25°

Hockey East and TD Garden awarded 2015 NCAA Frozen Four

Frozen in Boston

The elite of men’s ice hockey is coming to Boston in 2015. The NCAA announced yesterday that TD Garden and the Hockey East Association will host the Frozen Four next season, with the NCAA semifinals taking place on Thursday, April 9, and the championship game on Saturday, April 11.

The TD Garden also hosted the Frozen Four in 1998 and 2004. Boston has served as host on four other occasions, including three straight years at the old Boston Garden from 1972-74, while the Boston Arena (now Northeastern University’s Matthews Arena) hosted Boston’s first Frozen Four back in 1960.

Hockey East teams have won eight NCAA championships in the past 21 years – Boston College (four), Boston University (two) and Maine (two). Since 1999, Hockey East has won six championships, had 13 championship game appearances and placed 21 teams in the Frozen Four.

Legacy Comments0
There are no comments yet. Be the first!
Post a Comment

You must be registered to comment on stories. Click here to register.