Hi 36° | Lo 18°

University of New Hampshire named as host site for three upcoming NCAA tournaments

Big-time hosts

The University of New Hampshire was named the host site of three upcoming NCAA championships yesterday – the 2015 men’s ice hockey Northeast Regional, the 2016 Women’s Frozen Four and 2017 Skiing Championship.

The UNH men’s ice hockey team has hosted five previous regionals at Verizon Wireless Arena in Manchester – 2004, ’07, ’09, ’11 and ’13 – and the Wildcats have advanced to the regional each time.

The Women’s Frozen Four will be held at the Whittemore Center for the third time since the NCAA began sponsoring a women’s ice hockey championship in 2001. UNH was the site of the 2002 Frozen Four, and the Wildcats became the first school to host the event twice when the championship returned to Durham in 2005.

UNH will host the Skiing Championship for the fifth time when the event returns to the state for the ninth time overall in 2017. The Wildcats also served as host of the NCAAs in 1984, ’92, ’95 and ’07.

“We are delighted to receive the news that we will be hosting these NCAA championships,” said Director of Athletics Marty Scarano. “I think it’s a great tribute to the hard work of our staff and coaches here at UNH, and certainly the management at the Verizon Wireless Arena in Manchester.“We’ve hosted these championships before, and I am absolutely confident that we will continue to do a great job hosting these coveted events again.”

Legacy Comments0
There are no comments yet. Be the first!
Post a Comment

You must be registered to comment on stories. Click here to register.