Hi 33° | Lo 18°
Boston Red Sox

A look at the eight Red Sox World Series victories


Red Sox 5, Pirates 3

The Red Sox (then known as the Americans) fell behind 3-1 in the best-of-nine series but won the last four as Cy Young won Games 5 and 7 and Bill Dinneen won Games 6 and 8. Dinneen started four games, winning three with a 2.06 ERA.


Red Sox 4, Giants 3

On the verge of blowing a 3-1 series lead, the Red Sox rallied in the series finale at Fenway Park – which had opened that April – by scoring two runs in the bottom of the 10th inning to beat Hall of Famer Christy Mathewson, 3-2. The winning rally was aided when center fielder Fred Snodgrass dropped a fly ball.


Red Sox 4, Phillies 1

The Red Sox lost the opener to Hall of Famer Pete Alexander, 3-1, then won the next four games by scores of 2-1, 2-1, 2-1 and 5-4. Rube Foster won Games 2 and 5, with the Red Sox scoring two runs in the eighth and one in the ninth to win the clincher.


Red Sox 4, Dodgers 1

The Red Sox made it back-to-back titles behind the stellar pitching of Ernie Shore (2-0 record, including a three-hitter in the 4-1 clinching victory), Dutch Leonard and a young left-hander named Babe Ruth. In his first World Series start, Ruth pitched all 14 innings of Boston’s 2-1 victory in Game 2.


Red Sox 4, Cubs 2

The Red Sox scored just nine runs in the series, but both Babe Ruth and Carl Mays went 2-0 on the mound to give Boston its fourth title in seven seasons. Ruth was the only Red Sox batter to drive in more than one run in the series, as his two-run triple in Game 4 was the big hit in a 3-2 win.


Red Sox 4, Cardinals 0

The Red Sox never trailed in the series as they exorcised 86 years worth of demons. Second baseman Mark Bellhorn won the opener at Fenway with an eighth-inning homer off the foul pole, then starters Curt Schilling, Pedro Martinez and Derek Lowe dominated in Games 2-4, combining to pitch 20 innings without allowing an earned run. Closer Keith Foulke saved all four games, including the 3-0 clincher at Busch Stadium.


Red Sox 4, Rockies 0

The Red Sox cruised to their second title in four years, outscoring the Rockies 29-10 and trailing for a total of only three innings all series. Starters Josh Beckett, Curt Schilling, Daisuke Matsuzaka and Jon Lester all won their starts, and Series MVP Mike Lowell hit .400 with a homer and four RBI. Closer Jonathan Papelbon had three saves, including the 4-3 clincher at Coors Field.


Red Sox 4, Cardinals 2

The Red Sox came back from a 2-1 series deficit to win the final three games, including Games 4 and 5 in St. Louis, for their third championship in 10 years. The Game 6 victory allowed the Red Sox to celebrate a Series-clinching victory at Fenway Park for the first time since 1918. Left-hander Jon Lester won Games 1 and 5 and David Ortiz hit .688 to win Series MVP.

Legacy Comments0
There are no comments yet. Be the first!
Post a Comment

You must be registered to comment on stories. Click here to register.