Contoocook River region town criers for July 14, 2019

Published: 7/12/2019 2:18:22 PM
Modified: 7/12/2019 2:18:09 PM
BOW Free concert tonight

■The 2019 Bow Rotary free summer concert starts tonight with High Range. It continues with Canyon Run Band on July 21, Concord Coachmen on July 28, Bow Junction on Aug. 4, Bend the Ride on Aug. 11 and Honest Millie on Aug. 1. All concerts, weather permitting, will be held at the Bow Bandstand from 6 to 8 p.m. Bring your chair or blanket, and share these great free concerts with your friends and neighbors.

■Aug. 9 and 10 are the dates for this year’s “Books In Bloom” hosted in conjunction with the Baker Free Library. The theme for this year is “A Universe of Stories” in keeping with the national summer reading program and the library’s related summer programs. Floral arrangers will use the book’s subject, cover, a particular character and so on as their inspirations for their designs. Light refreshments will be served on from 5:30 to 8 p.m. on Aug. 9 and from 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. on Aug. 10. There will be special children’s activities offered by the library on Aug. 10. For more information, contact either the library via Betsy Mahoney at 224-7113, ext. 106, or the Bow Garden Club via Joyce Kimball at 229-1990.

■Bow Mills United Methodist Church, 505 South St., will hold its vacation Bible school from July 22 to 26 from 9 a.m. to noon. “To Mars and Beyond” invites young “voyagers” on a space travel adventure. Children ages 3 and up are welcome. Come meet the star of “To Mars and Beyond.” To register, contact the church office or Jen at 224-0884, or visit bowmillsumc.org for more information.

■The Bow Garden Club is on hiatus until Sept. 9, when it will feature holistic dietician Traci Kormorek as the meeting’s speaker. For information about the club, please visit bowgardenclub.org.

JOYCE KIMBALL

bowcomnews@comcast.net

DUNBARTON One-man play

■This month, the DCC book club is reading Origin by Dan Brown. The discussion will be from 7 to 8:30 p.m. Aug. 1. Jennifer Oliver will host at the vestry. All are welcome.

■On Tuesday, from 6:30 to 8 p.m. at the library, there will be a performance of Sailing Towards My Father, a play written and directed by Carl A. Rossi and performed by Stephen Collins. Collins is a Shakespearean trained actor with 40 years of theatrical experience. Sailing Towards My Father is a one-man play about Herman Melville.

■On Thursday, at 6:30 p.m., the topic at the library will be “Veggie Up! Roasting Vegetables,” presented by Michelle Smith of the Concord Hospital Center for Health Promotion.

■On Saturday from 7 to 10:30 p.m., come to the vestry to see Zak Trojano. A $5 donation suggested. Zak returns to the Spireside stage to celebrate the release of his most recent album, Wolf Trees. His performance features his smooth baritone voice supported by an old Martin guitar and low-tuned Weissenborn lap steel. On Wolf Trees, Zak has woven nine original songs into an album that beautifully balances the acoustic intimacy of a coffeehouse and the wild volume of a midnight rock club. This is guaranteed to be a great show.

■“Read to Dogs” will be at the library from 3 to 4 p.m. July 25. Read aloud to a certified therapy dog from Therapy Dogs International, Chapter 205. You must register to participate. Call to schedule your 15 minutes with one of the dogs.

■On July 23, at 10:30 a.m., Sherry Gamble will be at the library for Chair Yoga. Wear comfortable clothes, bring water and arrive early to start on time. This is an adult activity.

NORA LEDUC

774-3141

dtowncrier@gmail.com

HENNIKER / WEARE Theater camp

■Music in Henniker this week includes Canyon Run, a country/Americana quintet with a touch of bluegrass that performs a mix of covers and originals, performing at 7 p.m. on Tuesday at the Angela Robinson Bandstand as part of the Henniker Summer Concert Series. In case of rain, the program will be in the community center. Visit hennikerconcerts@henniker.org for more information. Also, on Thursday from 4 to 7 p.m., Beechwood will be performing at the community market. Visit hennikerfarmersmarket.com for more information.

■The Weare Rally, hosted by the Merrimack Valley Military Vehicle Collectors Club, will begin at 8 a.m. July 25 and 26 and be located behind Center Woods Elementary School. For more information on this free event, visit mvmvc.org/weare-rally.

■There are still a few openings in the Weare Henniker Youth Theatre’s musical camp from July 22 to 25 at WMS. This summer’s camp is for 6- to 18-year-olds, and the show they will be doing is William Ogmundson’s award-winning musical, The Lending Doll, about a doll that saved a library. For more information, email dunn.t@comcast.net or call 568-5102. Scholarships are available.

TOM DUNN

dunn.t@comcast.net

HILLSBOROUGH / DEERING ‘Creatures of the Night’

■On Tuesday, “Creatures of the Night” is being presented by Squam Lake Science Center at 6:30 p.m. at Fuller Public Library. Meet three live creatures of the night and learn surprising details of their adaptations.

■Fuller Public Library’s Mystery Book group will meet at 6:30 p.m. on Tuesday to discuss I Let You Go by Clare MacKintosh. Interested in joining? Stop in to pick up a book or to ask for more information.

■Instead of its monthly luncheon, GHSS is heading to Jaffrey for a picnic at the Mount Monadnock State Park on Thursday. It will supply the hamburgers, hot dogs and beverages. Please bring a side dish or a dessert to share. The bus will be leaving Shaw’s at 10 a.m. Please consider carpooling, if possible, since the bus is limited to 14 passengers. The event is free of charge. Call Marie Mogavero at 464-4726 or 724-5272 to sign up.

■On Thursday, decorate a solar system cookie at the Fuller Public Library as part of its summer reading theme, “A Universe of Stories.” Kids decorate at 10 a.m., and teens, fifth-graders and up, decorate at noon. Sign up at the library because space and supplies are limited for each session.

■On Saturday, there will be a model rocket demonstration at 10 a.m. at Hillsboro-Deering High School, weather permitting. This event is part of Fuller Public Library’s summer reading program, “A Universe of Stories.”

■From 4 to 6 p.m. on July 21, there is a volunteer gathering at Hillsborough Center clubhouse for all those interested in or planning to help at the “History Alive” event at Jones Road or Hillsborough Center, which will be held Aug. 17 and 18. This gathering is free, and refreshments will be provided as attendees prepare to help at the event in some way. If you are not sure what you want to do, sign up for one of the jobs listed on the “History Alive” website, historyalivenh.org.

NANCY SHEE

nshee71@gmail.com

WARNER Poetry workshop

■There are one-hour tai chi classes on Tuesdays at noon at MainStreetBookEnds taught by certified instructor Marcia Wyman. This is a senior program, instructor permission us required for individuals under the age of 50. Cost is $20 for four weeks. Call 456-2700 to pre-register.

■Today at 2 p.m., at MainStreet BookEnds, join Deborah Brown, former UNH English professor and author of Walking the Dog’s Shadow and The Human Half, for her monthly poetry workshop. For now, the workshops are designed to combine lessons and exercises on aspects of craft. It is for the novice to the published, from 9- to 99-years-old. It is free and all are welcome.

■Today at 4 p.m., BookEnds BookGroup will discuss The Measure of My Powers; A Memoir of Food, Misery, and Paris by Jackie Kai Ellis. For fans of Eat Pray Love, Wild and H is for Hawk, The Measure of My Powers is the story of one woman’s search for self-love, experienced through food and travel. BookGroup participants receive 20% off the book prior to the event.

■“Beat Fest” with Kathy Lowe and Julie Corey is from 5 to 6:30 p.m. on July 24 at MainStreet Warner Stage. It is an all-ages drum circle and beat fest. Bring your own drum or use one of Kathy and Julie’s. The concert is free, but there is a $10 suggested donation.

■Warner Historical Society presents “Four Summer Evenings with Nationally Known Authors” at the Warner Town Hall, 5 E. Main St. Tickets are $10 each or 4 for $32, and they are available at MainStreet BookEnds. This is an annual summer event series showcasing locally and nationally known authors reading and talking about their books and personal experiences. Every event in the series is followed by a dessert reception with live music, a book signing and an opportunity to meet with the author. The first event, at 7 p.m. July 27, features Andre Dubus III, author of The Cage Keeper and Other Stories, Bluesman and the New York Times bestsellers, House of Sand and Fog, The Garden of Last Days and his memoir, Townie.

■“Pollinator Party” will be held from 11 a.m. to noon on July 27 at the Nature Discovery Center. Children from age 6 and up are welcome to this session of Nature Camp in which they’ll learn about our pollinators and why they’re so important. Cost is $5 per child, which includes a tour of the Nature Center following the program. Register by calling Barbara at 456-6052. Sign-in begins at 10:30 a.m., and walk-ins are accepted, space permitting.

NEIL NEVINS

456-3614

info@mainstreetbookends.com




Concord Monitor Office

1 Monitor Drive
Concord,NH 03301
603-224-5301

 

© 2019 Concord Monitor
Terms & Conditions - Privacy Policy