The Concord Monitor is launching its Environmental Reporting Lab, a long-term effort to better inform the community about the New Hampshire environment. To launch phase 1 of this effort, we need your help. The money raised will go toward hiring a full-time environmental reporter.

Please consider donating to this effort.


Thompson named Hockey East's best

Last modified: 3/18/2011 12:00:00 AM
It's been a breakout season for University of New Hampshire senior forward Paul Thompson. And it's been a season that's caught many by surprise - outside of Durham, that is.

'I expected myself to have a very good year and to be one of the leaders on the team, offensively and on the ice in general,' Thompson said on Wednesday. 'I'm happy with how my year has gone so far.'

It got even better last night at the annual Hockey East award banquet.

One day after winning the Three Stars Award, Hockey East's scoring champion was named the league's Player of the Year. First in the conference in points (42), power-play points (18), power-play goals (nine) and second in goals (23), Thompson joins Bobby Butler (2010) and Kevin Regan (2008) as the third Wildcat in four years to take home the honor.

'He's a very smart hockey player. He's got great anticipation and obviously he can score goals,' UNH Coach Dick Umile said. 'I think he's a step ahead. There's no question, from the start to finish, he's been very consistent in his play.'

Thompson was also a unanimous First Team All-Star selection. He was joined by forwards Gustav Nyquist of Maine and Cam Atkinson of Boston College.

Also on the first team was UNH blue liner Blake Kessel, who helped anchor a tight Wildcat defense that ranked second in Hockey East at just 2.19 goals against per game. The other defenseman was BC's Brian Dumoulin, while goaltender John Muse of BC finishes off the top team.

The second team includes Boston University goaltender Kieran Millan, defensemen Josh Van Dyk of Maine and Brian Warsofsky of BU, and forwards Stephane Da Costa of Merrimack, Brian Gibbons of BC and Wade MacLeod of Northeastern.

UNH forward Mike Sislo and goaltender Matt Di Girolamo were named Hockey East Honorable Mention All-Stars.

• Other awards handed out last night include the Sportsmanship Award (New Hampshire), the Coach of the Year (Jerry York, BC) and Rookie of the Year (Charlie Coyle, BU).


Support Local Journalism

Subscribe to the Concord Monitor, recently named the best paper of its size in New England.

Concord Monitor Office

1 Monitor Drive
Concord,NH 03301


© 2021 Concord Monitor
Terms & Conditions - Privacy Policy