All-State field hockey: Hopkinton’s Barrett named OPOY in D-III

  • Concord’s Ella Doherty (22) advances the ball up the field during the first half of a game earlier this season against Bishop Guertin. Doherty was named to the Division I All-State First Team by the NHFHCA on Thursday. RICH MIYARA / NH Sports Photography

  • Hopkinton’s Katie Meserve (7) yells during the second half of a game earlier this season against Bishop Brady. Meserve was named to the Division III All-State Second Team by the NHFHCA on Thursday. GEOFF FORESTER / Monitor staff

  • Concord defender Sam Ossoff (10) clears the ball away from a Bishop Guertin forward during a game earlier this season at Rollins Park in Concord. Ossoff, along with teammate Ella Doherty, were named to the Division I All-State First Team on Thursday by the NHFHCA. RICH MIYARA / NH Sports Photography

Monitor staff
Published: 11/8/2019 7:20:13 PM
Modified: 11/8/2019 7:20:00 PM

With champions already crowned across all three divisions, the New Hampshire Field Hockey Coaches Association released its All-State teams and 24 local athletes were recognized.

After helping lead Hopkinton to a 14-1 record, the No. 1 seed and a trip to the final four, Avery Barrett received one of the highest honors as the Offensive Player of the Year in Division III, along with a First Team nod.

Teammate Kate Bouchard joined Barrett on the First Team, while the state championship winning Bishop Brady Giants were also well-represented.

Kelly Owen, in her 26th year at the helm, was named Co-Coach of the Year after guiding No. 3 Brady (16-2) to the program’s first title with a drama-filled 1-0 win over No. 5 Mascoma Valley in the final.

Libbey Hicks, who scored the championship-winning goal last weekend, and Ashlyn Toupin were the two Giants to be named to the First Team, while Franklin’s Emma LaPierre also was named to the squad.

Hopkinton’s Katie Meserve, Bishop Brady’s Kathryn Weed, and Franklin’s Jada LaPierre and Elizabeth Guillotte were named to the Second Team.

Division I also was well-represented with local players after No. 5 Concord made its first title game appearance in 15 years.

Senior captain Ella Doherty and teammate Sam Ossoff were named to the D-I First Team, while goalie Felicity Wheldon earned a spot on the Second Team for the 12-5 Tide.

The No. 6 Merrimack Valley Pride (11-6), who upset No. 3 Kennett on its way to the final four earned additional accolades.

Head coach Jen Colgan was named the D-II Coach of the Year and two players – Reilly Swislosky and Molly McLaughlin – were named to the D-II First Team.

Bow’s Elizabeth Guertin and Emma Hilton, John Stark’s Elizabeth Aubin and Olivia Desainde, and Pembroke’s Alison Corriveau were the other area players on the First Team.

MV’s Lauren McLaughlin, Bow’s Amelia Coe, John Stark’s Gracie Bolduc, and Pembroke’s Lauren Lehoullier and Alex Bonacorsi were selected for the D-II Second Team.

Concord Monitor Office

1 Monitor Drive
Concord,NH 03301


© 2019 Concord Monitor
Terms & Conditions - Privacy Policy