Bow’s Blandini, Pittsfield’s Bedell named Players of the Year; Concord lands five on baseball’s All-State Team

Monitor staff
Published: 5/30/2019 10:38:23 PM

With the regular season in the books, many of the top players in the Granite State were recognized for their standout performances this spring after the Baseball Coaches Association of New Hampshire released its All-State list across all four NHIAA divisions.

A pair of local athletes received the highest honors as Bow shortstop and Southern New Hampshire University commit Connor Blandini was named Division II’s Player of the Year, and Pittsfield ace Devin Bedell – just over a year removed from brain surgery – was named Player of the Year in Division IV.

Head coach Scott Owen and the Concord Crimson Tide landed five All-State players after earning the top seed in Division I with a 16-3 season.

Zach Miles and Adrian Kennedy earned First Team recognition after a pair of stellar seasons. Miles batted .295, led the team in runs scored with 16, swiped 10 bags and did not allow a run while grabbing eight saves as the Tide’s closer. Kennedy finished 6-0 on the mound with 23 strikeouts while batting .355 with 11 RBI.

Both Eric Sullivan (.328, 11 RBI; 4-2, 2.94 ERA) and Ryan Merchant (5-0, 0.84 ERA, 23 strikeouts) took home Second Team honors, while Sean McDonough was named to the Third Team after serving as the setup man and leading the team in batting average at .362.

“Five great kids and five great baseball players. They deserve all the recognition they receive,” Owen said. “They’ve all been clutch for us and have helped us in many situations this year.”

While Blandini soaked up the top award in D-II as well as earning an All-State First Team nod, Bow had a number of athletes – and coaches – recognized.

Ben Harris joined Blandini with First Team honors, Riley Elliot and freshman Matt Lamy both made Second Team and Steven Guerrette and Matt Hamilton made Third Team. Ben Forbes and Dennis Ordway received Coach of the Year and Assistant of the Year honors, respectively.

Johh Stark had five players recognized, including Brett Patnode (First Team), Nate Isabelle (First Team), Aaron Robertson (Second Team), Rian Queen (Second Team), Nathan Innerfield (Third Team) and Jake Cole (Third Team).

Other local highlights in D-II included Pembroke’s Hayden Drew (Second Team), Cam Nixon (Third Team) and Jeff Wagner (Third Team), and the Merrimack Valley trio of Cal Chevarie, Caleb Heath and Griffin Wheeler, who all made Second Team.

Division III was loaded with locals at the top as Griffin Embree (Belmont), Cam Magerer (Belmont), Alex Andrews (Bishop Brady), TJ Laramie (Franklin), Harrison Clark (Franklin), Gunner Hagstrom (Hillsboro-Deering), Sam Crawford (Hopkinton), Caleb Yianakopolos (Hopkinton) and Michael Allard (Winnisquam) were all named to the First Team.

Hopkinton’s Dave Chase received Coach of the Year honors while also having Larsen Burack (Second Team), Mike Baer (Third Team), Colby Marshall (Third Team) and Kevin Newton-Delgado (Third Team) crack the list.

Nate Sottak (Belmont), Colby Brown (Belmont), Conor Treybig (Brady), Nick Grimbilas (Brady) and Philip Nichols (Winnisquam) rounded out the locals on the Second Team, while Austin Didsbury (Belmont), Brett Auclair (Belmont) and Jack Ferguson (Hillsboro-Deering) all landed on the Third Team.

Devin Bedell led the way for Pittsfield in D-IV, joining teammates Kyle Stockman and Jesse MacGlashing, as well as Concord Christian ace Nicholas Ritchie, on the First Team.

Gavin Bedell (Second Team) and DJ Zensky (Third Team) also represented Pittsfield, while Evan Corbett (Concord Christian) was voted to the Second Team.

Concord Monitor Office

1 Monitor Drive
Concord,NH 03301


© 2019 Concord Monitor
Terms & Conditions - Privacy Policy