Leadership Lakes Region graduates another class

  • Leadership Lakes Region’s Class of 2022 Adrienne Stevens Award recipients Alyssa Raxter (left) and Meghan Noyes. The women were voted by their classmates as best exemplifying the community-mindedness and volunteerism of the late Adrienne Stevens, co-founder of Leadership Lakes Region. Courtesy

Published: 7/6/2022 8:52:26 PM
Modified: 7/6/2022 8:49:48 PM

Leadership Lakes Region recently concluded its 23rd annual year with its annual Lakes/Environmental Day on Squam Lake followed by its graduation ceremony at the Belknap Mill.

The group was formed in 1996-98 by a group of concerned citizens looking for a mechanism to create more Lakes Region volunteers for charitable pursuits as well as a network of informed people from diverse backgrounds. To date, Leadership Lakes Region can now boast an alumni cadre of 434 graduates.

Lakes/Environmental Day was sponsored by Meredith Village Savings Bank and featured a series of presentations, a nature hike and other activities at the Squam Lake Association where the group was welcomed by Executive Director EB James. The afternoon included a pontoon boat tour of Squam Lake by the crew from the Squam Lakes Science Center.

At the Belknap Mill, the class of 25 and their guests enjoyed hors d’oeuvres from Hart’s Turkey Farm catered by Leadership Lakes’ graduate and current board member Willow Furey-Calder. The graduation speaker was renowned visually-impaired mountain climber, marathoner and motivational speaker, Randy Pierce, accompanied by his four-legged partner, Autumn. Pierce, as in previous leadership engagements, held the audience spell-bound as he spoke of the challenges faced by a blind hiker/climber and how determination will always win out.

The Class of 2022 graduates included Jason Stelmach, Carol Stone, Julie Westcott, Joanne Wilhelm, Emma Wisniewski, Becky Parks-Beaulac, Meghan Noyes, Alyssa Raxter, Sharon Ryba, Charles Smith, Adam McKinney, Alex Markarian, Jada Lindblom, Madison Harris, Andrea Harper, Gretchen Casey, Kristene Dauteuil, John Dunleavy, Krystal Follansbee, Christopher Hall, Tamera Carmichael, Jami Bourdeau, Jeremy Bonan, Cynthia Audia and Holly Andrews.

After recognizing all the graduates, Leadership Lakes Board President Don Morrissey introduced Chris Stevens of Belmont. Chris is the nephew of Leadership Lakes Region co-founder, the late Adrienne Stevens. Three years ago, the Leadership Board chose to remember Adrienne for her efforts not only in helping to start the non-profit group but also for her volunteerism throughout the Lake Region. Thus was born the annual Adrienne Stevens Founder’s Award for Leadership. Voted by the class members, the award represents that member, who in the opinion of his/her classmates best exemplifies the leadership and community involvement of Adrienne Stevens. The 2022 Adrienne Stevens Awards to Alyssa Raxter, a Gilford police officer, and Meghan Noyes, director of program services for the Child Advocacy Center of Belknap County. Also recognized at the graduation was Leadership Lakes Region Program Coordinator, Jennifer McLean, for her outstanding efforts in providing an excellent program across eight program days.

For more information ,visit leadershilakesregion.org for more details.

Concord Monitor Office

1 Monitor Drive
Concord,NH 03301


© 2021 Concord Monitor
Terms & Conditions - Privacy Policy