Hopkinton boys take third at D-III Alpine championship


Monitor staff

Published: 02-15-2023 6:47 AM

Senior Will Chapin, sophomore Merrick Chapin and junior Harrison Wilson all qualified for the Meet of Champions in both the slalom and giant slalom, but it wasn’t enough to lift the Hopkinton boys’ Alpine ski team back to the top of the Division III standings in back-to-back years.

Plymouth – last year’s runner-up – tallied 750 points, ahead of Hopkinton’s 727, to win the team crown on Tuesday at Gunstock.

Gilford (701), Kearsarge (688) and St. Thomas (595) rounded out the top five. Belmont (571, sixth), Bishop Brady (544, 10th), Hillsboro-Deering (358, 11th) and John Stark (278, 12th) were the other area teams that competed.

“It was neat with the Plymouth boys to go back and forth,” Hopkinton head coach Scott Zipke said. “The boys were really getting after it today for both teams. A couple of kids fell. It was a good result today for (Plymouth). It wasn’t really anything we did wrong. It was two good teams skiing well, they just scored a few more points.”

Plymouth’s Dylan Welch won both the morning GS (1:06.03) and the afternoon slalom (1:00.97) to lead the Bobcats to a relatively close 380-366 lead over Hopkinton through the two morning runs.

Sophomore Merrick Chapin (second GS in 1:07.33), senior Will Chapin (fourth GS in 1:08.45), and juniors Harrison Wilson (sixth giant slalom) and junior Cam Bassett (22nd) scored for Hopkinton in the GS.

The Hawks were even closer in the afternoon, with Plymouth outscoring them 370-361.

Forced to ski a little bit more aggressively, Hopkinton had some falls in the afternoon, but had strong races from Merrick Chapin (third, 1:04.38), Will Chapin (fourth, 1:06.87), Wilson (seventh 1:09.98 and junior Matt Dermody (33rd).

Article continues after...

Yesterday's Most Read Articles

Alex Spinney (eighth slalom, ninth GS), Sam Mann (11th slalom, 14th GS), Branden Hurley (13th slalom, 21st GS), Tobin Wyman (18th slalom) and Caiden McKenna (26th GS) scored for Kearsarge.

Tanner McKim (19th GS, 24th slalom), Mathias Krauchunas (21st slalom, 28th GS), Alejando Jimenez (29th GS) and Landon Bormes (40th slalom, 45th GS) scored for Belmont.

Liam Masner (15th GS, 16th slalom), Maxwell Brooks (23rd GS), Jack Beauchese (42nd slalom), Boden Gendron (44th slalom), Alvaro Revuelta (46th slalom), Alexander Miller (53rd GS) and Nicholas Brown (55th GS) scored for Bishop Brady.

Greg Leblanc (36th slalom, 48th GS), David Prentiss (46th GS), Logan Lane (47th GS, 50th slalom) and Landon Lane (60th GS) scored for Hillsboro-Deerinng

Austin Freeman (15th slalom, 16th US) and Samuel Robinson (55th slalom, 59th GS) led John Stark.