Sharon Olds wins $100,000 poetry prize

Published: 9/9/2016 12:59:11 PM

One of the country’s leading poets, Pulitzer Prize winner Sharon Olds, 73, of Pittsfield, has won a $100,000 lifetime achievement award.

The Academy of American Poets told the Associated Press on Wednesday that Olds had been given the Wallace Stevens Award for “proven mastery in the art of poetry.” She won the Pulitzer in 2013 for “Stag’s Leap.” She is also known for “The Dead and the Living” and “Strike Sparks.”

The academy announced several other prizes, including a $25,000 honor for Pulitzer winner and former U.S. poet laureate Natasha Trethewey, who received a fellowship for “distinguished poetic achievement.” Lynn Emanuel’s The Nerve of It won the $25,000 Lenore Marshall Poetry Prize for last year’s best poetry book.

Mary Hickman’s Rayfish was named as the outstanding second book of poetry. Ron Padgett was cited for his translation of Zone: Selected Poems by Guillaume Apollinaire and Stephen Sartarelli for his translation of The Selected Poetry of Pier Paolo Pasolini. Twenty-year-old Donte Collins received an award for most promising young poet.

The academy is a nonprofit organization founded in 1934. Previous award winners include Sylvia Plath, Robert Pinsky and Mark Strand.

Associates Press


Support Local Journalism

Subscribe to the Concord Monitor, recently named the best paper of its size in New England.

Concord Monitor Office

1 Monitor Drive
Concord,NH 03301


© 2021 Concord Monitor
Terms & Conditions - Privacy Policy