Boys’ hockey: Craigue, Guerin named Player of the Year; All-State rosters announced


Monitor staff

Published: 03-19-2023 10:15 AM

The New Hampshire High School Hockey Coaches Association released All-State teams and awards late last week, and two area competitors were honored as Player of the Year in their respective divisions.

Concord senior Brooks Craigue was named the Division I Player of the Year after scoring 30 goals and recording 37 assists in 24 total games this season. Craigue set the program’s all-time record for assists (111), also finishing his career with 76 goals and 187 points in 89 games. The 67 points he accrued this season in the Crimson Tide’s single-season record. Craigue was also a part of three consecutive championships from 2020-22.

Belmont-Gilford senior Owen Guerin was selected as the Division III Player of the Year after leading D-III with 32 goals, 24 assists and 56 points. Guerin tallied 135 total points in his four-year career, that concluded with Belmont-Gilford claiming the D-III championship with a 4-1 victory over Berlin-Gorham. He also led the Bulldogs to an appearance in the 2022 title game.

Joining Craigue on the D-I First Team was teammate Joey Tarbell, a senior defenseman, while junior blueliner Jack Shoemaker was named to the Second Team.

 Somersworth/Coe-Brown senior forward Jonny Pelletier and senior defenseman Connor Strum were the lone area representatives on the D-II Honorable Mention list.

In D-III, Guerin’s sophomore brother Evan, a forward, was also named to the First Team, as was Laconia-Winnisquam/Inter-Lakes senior forward Zach Spicuzza and Pembroke-Campbell junior goaltender Liam Cripps.

Pembroke-Campbell junior forward Cam Plumb was namd to the D-III Second Team.

John Stark-Hopkinton/Hillsboro-Deering freshman forward Kip Hedquist, Belmont-Gilford junior defenseman Aidan McKenzie and Bulldog sophomore netminder Carson McGreevy earned D-III Honorable Mention.

Article continues after...

Yesterday's Most Read Articles

Opinion: A look at the Elderly Property Tax Exemption
Rockhounds rejoice: Ruggles Mine in NH to reopen
Vintage Views: Rattlesnake Hill, Concord’s quarries, and our superior granite supply
Concord police investigating Thursday night fight at popular swimming spot
Concord downsizes middle school plan to reduce costs but keeps firm on unpopular location
Concord Ethics Board to weigh merits of complaints against two city councilors

Bishop Brady-Trinity-Londonderry freshman forward Evey Heppler was named the girls’ Second Team.