A look at the Concord candidates who’ve filed on the first day to enter municipal races


Monitor staff

Published: 09-09-2023 3:04 PM

The first day of filing for Concord municipal elections saw eight candidates enter races to run for City Council and Byron Champlin entering the race to replace outgoing Mayor Jim Bouley.

Incumbents Brent Todd (Ward 1), Karen McNamara (Ward 4), Keith Nyhan (Ward 7), Zandra Rice Hawkins (Ward 10) and Nathan Fennessy (At-Large) all filed to run again.

Newcomers Michele Horne (Ward 2), Ali Sekou (Ward 8) along with Judith Kurtz and Matthew Hicks (both At-Large) also filed.

On the school side, incumbent Brenda Hastings filed to run in School Voting Zone C - Wards 8, 9, 10, which is one of three seats up for re-election.

The filing period will be open until Monday, September 18.

Though most city councilors confirmed they were running for reelection, Ward 2 Councilor Erle Pierce formally announced he was stepping down.

Article continues after...

Yesterday's Most Read Articles

Dunkin sign crashing down in Concord didn’t stop the coffee from flowing
Concord Police investigating death at homeless camp
Free house for grabs – historic home is all yours, if you can move it
A bridge, a park, or both? Residents brainstorm visions for an elevated connection between downtown and the river
Stacy Wakefield dies less than 5 months after her husband, Tim Wakefield
NH doctor works to rebuild online reputation after TikTok spreads false news

Champlin had signaled his intention to run for mayor, while Ward 3 Councilor Jennifer Kretovic and At-Large Councilor Amanda Grady Sexton said they were considering running. Neither filed by Friday. Bouley will have served for 16 years as the city’s mayor and 10 as a city councilor.

In addition to Hasting’s School Board seat in Zone C, two other seats will be on the ballot as the terms of board members Thomas Croteau (School Voting Zone A – Wards 1, 2, 3, 4) and Jonathan Weinberg (School Voting Zone B – Wards 5, 6, 7) are set to expire. Weinberg announced he will not be running for reelection.

If elected to school board positions, members will serve a three-year term beginning in January 2024.

Candidates for city and school offices can declare at the City Clerk’s office at City Hall or the school district offices. The filing fee is $5.

Elections will take place on Tuesday, November 7.